What to Know About Uber and Lyft Accidents in Florida
If you were injured in an Uber/Lyft accident you may be eligible to recover financial compensation for your burdens. Reach out to our skilled Hillsborough County Uber/Lyft accident lawyer today to discuss your options.Get Your Case Started
What causes an Uber/Lyft accident?
Many people have trust that their Uber or Lyft will get them safely to their chosen destination. However, there are some cases where Uber and Lyft drivers are guilty of negligence as much as any other kind of motorist. Some of the most typical causes of Uber and Lyft accidents in Florida include:
- Texting while driving, looking at a GPS while driving, or otherwise driving while distracted
- Driving while intoxicated
- Driving while fatigued
- Making unsafe lane changes
- Disregarding all other rules and regulations of the road
What is Uber/Lyft’s liability coverage?
In the event that someone is hurt in an accident, they typically require financial compensation to help protect the cost of their medical bills, pain, suffering, and more. Because of this, Uber and Lyft have a liability coverage system. The system is split into periods, and depending on the circumstances of your accident, you should be paid in accord with the period your accident falls into. Uber/Lyft’s liability coverage includes the following:
- Period 0: Period 0 is when an Uber or Lyft driver gets into an accident and is not logged into the rideshare app. Here, Uber/Lyft will not provide liability coverage.
- Period 1: If an Uber/Lyft driver is logged in to the app, though the driver has not yet accepted a ride and causes an accident, Uber/Lyft will provide liability coverage for up to $50,000 per person injured in the accident, $100,000 total injury liability per accident, and $25,000 property damage liability.
- Period 2: This is when the Uber/Lyft driver accepts a ride, is en route to pick up the passenger, and crashes. In this case, liability coverage increases to $1 million.
- Period 3: Period 3 is when an Uber/Lyft driver gets into a car accident while the passenger is in his/her car. If this occurs, Uber/Lyft will provide $1 million in liability coverage, as well as limited coverage for damage to the driver’s car and uninsured motorists’ coverage.
What is the statute of limitations in Florida?
Just like with all other auto accident claims, if you were hurt in an Uber/Lyft accident, you must take legal action against the liable party within the state’s statute of limitations. The statute of limitations for Uber/Lyft accident claims in Florida is, typically, four years, which means you cannot wait any longer than four years to file your claim or else you risk losing the opportunity to recover damages entirely. Our Hillsborough County auto accident lawyer is ready to help you obtain the compensation you need to heal and move forward.
Contact Our Firm
For a skilled Tampa personal injury lawyer you can trust, contact The Frank Santini Law Firm today for a free initial consultation.