Motorcycle Accidents in Florida | What You Need to Know
Motorcycle accidents are serious. If you were hurt in one, you may want to consider your legal options. Reach out to our firm today and speak with a dedicated Hillsborough County motorcycle accident lawyer. Our legal team is on your side.Get Your Case Started
How do motorcycle accidents occur in Florida?
Motorcycles are dangerous. As a result, there are a number of ways that motorcycle accidents can occur, including poor road conditions, inclement weather, and driver negligence. However, the majority of these accidents are because of driver negligence. Some examples of this include:
- Texting while driving
- Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- Tailing motorcyclists too closely
- Failing to check blind spots before changing lanes
- Driving while fatigued
- Opening car doors before looking to ensure no motorcyclists are passing by
How can I recover compensation after an accident?
If you were injured in a motorcycle accident and would like to pursue legal action, it is essential that you hire the services of a skilled personal injury lawyer. Your attorney will work to demonstrate that you were injured due to another party’s negligence. If this can be established, you should obtain compensation for your burdens. The two main kinds of damages are economic damages and non-economic damages. Economic damages cover the monetary cost of your injury including medical documents, lost wages, and more. Non-economic damages deal with the intangible, such as the loss of enjoyment of life, pain and suffering, and more.
What is the statute of limitations for motorcycle accident claims in Florida?
Keep in mind that if you would like to pursue legal action after your motorcycle accident, you will have to do so promptly. This is because Florida has a statute of limitations of four years. This indicates that you will have four years to take pursue action against the liable party within four years of the date of your accident. In the event that you fail to file your claim within this time period, it may result in you losing the opportunity to file entirely. The sooner you start this process, the better. Reach out to our firm today to ensure you meet each of your claim’s critical deadlines.
What are the motorcycle helmet laws in Florida?
In the state of Florida, motorcyclists who are 21 years old and older and have at least $10,000 in medical coverage for injuries sustained in a motorcycle accident are not mandated to wear a helmet by law. But, all other motorcyclists under the age of 21 and without $10,000 in medical coverage are required to wear helmets. Additionally, motorcyclists in Florida are required to wear eye protection at all times.
Contact Our Firm
For a skilled Tampa personal injury lawyer you can trust, contact The Frank Santini Law Firm today for a free initial consultation.