What Are My Options After an Uber or Lyft Accident in Florida?
If you were injured in an Uber or Lyft, you have rights. Read on and reach out to our skilled Hillsborough County Uber/Lyft accident lawyer today to learn more about how our legal team can help you.Get Your Case Started
How do Uber/Lyft accidents occur?
Even though Uber and Lyft are both safe modes of transportation, most of the time, Uber and Lyft drivers are blameworthy of negligence just like any other kind of motorist. Some of the most common causes of Uber and Lyft accidents in Florida that our firm has seen include the following:
- Driving while fatigued
- Driving while intoxicated
- Texting while driving, looking at a GPS while driving, or otherwise driving while distracted
- Making unsafe lane changes
- Disobeying all other rules and regulations of the road
What is Uber/Lyft’s liability coverage?
In the event that an individual is injured in an accident, they often need financial compensation to help protect the cost of their medical bills, pain and suffering, and more. Because of this, Uber and Lyft have created a liability coverage system. The system is broken down into periods, and depending on the events of your accident, you will likely be compensated in accordance with the period your accident falls into. Uber/Lyft’s liability coverage works as follows:
- Period 0: Period 0 refers to when an Uber or Lyft driver gets into an accident and is not logged into the rideshare app. In this case, Uber/Lyft will not provide liability coverage.
- Period 1: When an Uber/Lyft driver is logged in to the app, though the driver has not yet accepted a ride and causes an accident, Uber/Lyft will provide liability coverage for up to $50,000 per person injured in the accident, $100,000 total injury liability per accident, and $25,000 property damage liability.
- Period 2: This occurs when the Uber/Lyft driver accepts a ride, is en route to pick up the passenger, and crashes. In this case, liability coverage increases to $1 million.
- Period 3: Period 3 is when an Uber/Lyft driver gets into a car accident while the passenger is in his/her car. When this happens, Uber/Lyft will provide $1 million in liability coverage, as well as limited coverage for damage to the driver’s car and uninsured motorists’ coverage.
What is the statute of limitation for these types of claims in Florida?
Just like with all other auto accident claims, if you have been injured in an Uber/Lyft accident, you must take legal action against the liable party within the state’s statute of limitations. The statute of limitations for Uber/Lyft accident claims in Florida is, generally, four years, which means you will be barred from suing entirely if you file beyond this deadline. Give our Hillsborough County auto accident lawyer a call today to ensure you meet each of your claim’s important deadlines.
Contact Our Firm
For a skilled Tampa personal injury lawyer you can trust, contact The Frank Santini Law Firm today for a free initial consultation.