Uber/Lyft Accidents in Florida | What You Should Know
You are likely looking to recover compensation after being involved in a car accident while using a rideshare app such as Uber/Lyft. To learn more about how you can file a valid claim after an Uber/Lyft accident, continue reading. For assistance with your upcoming claim, do not hesitate to reach out to our experienced Florida personal injury attorney.Get Your Case Started
What are the most common causes of car accidents?
There are various factors that may play a part in causing a car accident such as weather and road conditions or faulty car parts. However, the majority of car accidents are typically caused by negligence behind the wheel. The most common forms of driver negligence include the following:
- Distracted driving
- Driving under the influence
- Drowsy driving
- Failing to follow the rules of the road
If your Uber/Lyft accident was caused by your rideshare driver’s negligence, you likely have a valid personal injury claim to recover compensation for your damages.
What is the Uber/Lyft liability coverage system?
Uber/Lyft’s liability coverage system outlines the financial assistance that the company will provide for those who have been injured in an Uber/Lyft accident. The system is as follows:
- Period 0: Period 0 is when an Uber/Lyft driver has been involved in an accident before logging into the rideshare app. Uber/Lyft will not provide coverage for Period 0.
- Period 1: Period 1 is when the Uber/Lyft driver is involved in an accident while they are logged into the app but without accepting a ride. For Period 1, the rideshare company will provide liability coverage of up to $50,000 per person injured in the accident, $100,000 total injury liability per accident, and $25,000 property damage liability.
- Period 2: Period 2 is when the rideshare driver is involved in a car after accepting a trip and en route to the passenger’s location. For Period 2, Uber/Lyft’s liability cover increases to $1 million.
- Period 3: Period 3 is when the Uber/Lyft is involved in an accident while the passenger is in the rideshare car. For Period 3, Uber/Lyft’s liability coverage is up to $1 million as well as additional limited coverage for damage to the driver’s car and the uninsured motorists’ coverage.
What is the statute of limitations for personal injury claims after an Uber/Lyft accident in Florida?
The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Florida is generally four years. This means that after your Uber/Lyft accident, you will have four years from that date to file your personal injury attorney. You must file your claim within this timeframe to avoid being permanently time-barred from suing. To get started with this process as soon as possible, reach out to our experienced personal injury attorney today.
Contact Our Firm
For a skilled Tampa personal injury lawyer you can trust, contact The Frank Santini Law Firm today for a free initial consultation.