What Steps Should I Take After a Car Accident in Florida?

If you were injured in a car accident in Florida, it is in your best interest to reach out to our firm today to discuss the details of your case and your options with a Hillsborough County car accident lawyer. Our legal team is on your side.

Get Your Case Started

What should I do after a car accident?

In order to recover compensation for the physical, financial, and emotional damages you have sustained as a result of your accident, you will need to collect as much evidence as possible. This is also referred to as satisfying the burden of proof. Some of the most valuable kinds of evidence in proving injury claims include the following:

  • A copy of the police report that was filed at the scene of the accident
  • Surveillance footage of the accident itself
  • Photos of the damage caused by the accident, such as damaged vehicles, guardrails/other property, and photos of injuries themselves
  • A copy of all medical documentation and bills related to any injuries sustained as a result of the accident
  • Witness testimony documenting the facts of the incident

Our firm has considerable experience speaking with witnesses, acquiring necessary evidence, and, ultimately, obtaining favorable resolutions on behalf of our clients.

What are examples of driver negligence?

The most common cause of car accidents is typically driver negligence. Keep in mind that driver negligence can come in many different forms, including:

  • Driving while drowsy or tired
  • Ignoring traffic lights or signs
  • Driving while intoxicated or while under the influence of drugs
  • Texting while driving, putting on makeup while driving, or otherwise driving while distracted
  • Surpassing the speed limit
  • Following other motorists too closely
  • Neglecting to check blind spots before joining or changing lanes
  • Ignoring any other rule or regulation of the road

What is PIP insurance?

Personal Injury Protection insurance also referred to as PIP, is a kind of coverage that all motorists are mandated to purchase. Essentially, after an accident in which a driver with PIP is injured, PIP should cover up to 80 percent of their medical bills and up to 60 percent of their lost wages, no matter who caused the accident. That said, if you were hurt in an accident caused by another driver, you should not have to pay for your injuries. Even 20 percent of your uncovered medical bills and 40 percent of the wages you lost from being unable to return to work still add up. For instance, if you incurred $100,000 in medical bills and PIP covers 80 percent of the cost, you will be responsible for paying $20,000. Luckily, with an experienced Hillsborough County auto accident lawyer on your side, you can feel more comfortable knowing that your attorneys will work to obtain as much compensation as possible to ensure you can heal properly.

Contact Our Firm

For a skilled Tampa personal injury lawyer you can trust, contact The Frank Santini Law Firm today for a free initial consultation.

Latest Blog Posts